Archive for December 16, 2011

Love dare Day 3: Love is Not Selfish

Day 2: Love is Kind

In addition to saying nothing negative to my kids again today, I also need to do at least one unexpected gesture as an act of kindness.

*********************************

I did it, dear friends! I refrained from saying anything negative AND I did unexpected gestures of kindness!!!

First off, I went and got Christmassy t-shirts for the boy to wear to the Christmas Party at church, I got them shirts that I knew each would like, but I gave them their choice of which one they wanted. Of course, they picked the ones I thought they would! I also got Vicky and I elf hats and Vicky was even more excited than I thought she would be……. she put it on right away and said “Oh my gosh, mom…… we HAVE to wear these when we watch elf together!”

🙂

I called James and congratulated him on being finished with finals. I also told him how proud I was of him for paying off his credit card. I asked him what all he wants to do while he’s home and asked what I could do to help him while he is here. We had a wonderful conversation and I can’t wait to see him on Monday night!!

I took the kids to dinner before church and we even went all dressed up in our Christmas gear! It was a riot!!!! We turned a few heads, but acted like it was all totally normal for us. So much fun!

I got them Starbucks treats and we headed to church. The Christmas Party was a BLAST! It made my heart so happy to see so many kids get dressed up and be silly! Dustin even made it into the Top 12 Best Costumes group! I did not get a picture of Stephen with his Christmas Story t-shirt on because he was working with the kids… but he did not look so bad himself! 🙂 We didn;t win the Ipod Touch….. but we sure had fun trying!

So… we got home from church and Tim dropped a bombshell on me. I won’t go into details, but let’s say it involves him not doing something we asked him to do, using something he shouldn’t have used….. and me shaving his head. I was not happy about it, but I knew he wasn’t either. All things considered, I handled myself VERY well and Tim was a sweetheart and did everything he was supposed to do to help me and then some.

Feeling very blessed.

Day 3: Love is Not Selfish….

Romans 12:10

 Be devoted to one another in love. Honor one another above yourselves.

Whatever I put my time, energy and money into will become more important to me. It is hard to care for something I am not investing in. Along with restraining from negative comments, I must buy my kids something that says, “I was thinking of you today.”

 *********************************

Hmmmmm…… ok ok, I think I got this one! This speaks right to my love language……. I bought them individual things yesterday… maybe I’ll get them all something we can enjoy as a family tonight???I’ll have to pray about this and see how I can do this for James too.

Heavenly Father, Thank you for being with me every second in my days. Lord, may you get all the praise and the glory for the changes you are making in my heart. I ask that you help me today to come up with the perfect gift for the kids. In this season of giving, it would be wonderful to get them something that is very personal….. that they will know I put a lot of thought into. Help guide my thoughts, Lord. Also, help give me the strength to continue to be kind and not be negative. I love you, Lord, and I thank you in advance for how you will guide me today. In your son”s name, Amen.

 

December 16, 2011 at 9:34 am 4 comments


More Glory to Glory Resources

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Intentional Living

December 2011
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031