A Resolution to Champion Biblical Femininity: Role Reversal

July 12, 2012 at 6:00 am 15 comments

“A woman’s strength is best seen

not in the demonstration of her power

 but in her ability to harness it

under the authority of God-given leadership.” (pg. 48)

My dear friends, last night was ROUGH…..

I was hit with a MAJOR blow and I did not harness the power of my biblical femininity very well at all. I was so very sad and hurt…. it was almost too much for me to bear. I know it killed Craig to hear me so sad and broken. He prayed over me the most beautifully desperate prayer, we said good night and professed our love for one another and hung up the phone.

I immediately felt peace fall over my spirit. God is THE ONLY way that could happen. Seriously, friends, I cannot begin to put words to the anguish I was feeling and then literally not a more than 10 seconds after I hung up the phone, I felt this wave of calm overtake my heart. I still felt exhausted and spent in every sense, but my heart that felt shattered into a million little pieces felt whole again and warm within an instant.

I cannot go into the details of my despair…. but it was most certainly centered around submission. It all had to do with the fact that I had to fill a leadership role where I was supposed to be submissive but couldn’t for very valid reasons….. and now I am reaping the turmoil of living outside of God’s will for this circumstance. Craig assured me that it will all turn around now that it is being made right….. but in the thick of it last night that was impossible for me to see.

I was so angry and frustrated about the position it put me in for so long. All I could do was wail and cry about how “unfair” it is. Craig agreed and assured me that I knew what to do and that God would show me how to make this all right. He rebuked any negative forces that were trying to over take me and keep me confused. He thanked God for not leaving my side and for the comfort He would give me. He Praised God for filling my Spirit with His peace.

God filled me with His peace that surpasses all understanding ❤

God is the only way I can explain how I feel right now as I type. It is 12:15 am….. about a half hour after I hung up with Craig and I feel calm. I am exhausted but I know with all my heart that God is with me and has already healed my broken heart.

Dear friends, please hear Priscilla’s words on page 44….

“Order MATTERS- whether we understand it or agree with it or even want it.

Nothing can truly and ultimately be enjoyed

when we’re not willing to remain within our roles and boundaries.”

I wanted nothing more than to stay happily within said biblical roles and boundaries, but I obviously wasn’t trusting God to fill the gap if *I* didn’t. I wasn’t trusting God and I wasn’t trusting my husband. I repent. I could go on and on here about all the reasons why I HAD to step up and lead when it was not my role to do so, but no excuse is valid.

I refuse to live in stubborn defiance any longer and I refuse to be a victim or a martyr. I knew better and I know now what I need to do.

I submit.

Lord, help me……… I submit. I choose the trusted, effective boundaries of God’s established order. I CONFIDENTLY resolve to yield to people, precepts, and principles that have been placed in my life as authorities.

PURPOSEFULLY FEMININE

I will champion God’s model for womanhood in the face of a postfeminist culture.

I will teach it to my daughter and encourage its support by my sons.

Signed x Megan “I need a cruise” Smidt

 Read about what Craig has to say about the men’s journey here: www.adversusmundi.wordpress.com

Entry filed under: God's Power, marriage, Parenting, Resolution, Step Parenting, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

A Resolution to Champion Biblical Femininity: It’s Good to be a Girl! Resolution For Women: Week 2 in Review

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bygrace4ever  |  July 12, 2012 at 8:20 am

    AWWW Hug honey…. brought an ache to my heart. What was it you all told me?? The Lord disciplines those He LOVES. Grateful for that.. aren’t you?? HUGGGGGGGG from Wisconsin!

    Reply
  • 2. megansmidt  |  July 12, 2012 at 8:28 am

    I am so very grateful ❤ ….. I felt that hug 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Christi Wilson: Founder, Girlfriends Coffee Hour  |  July 12, 2012 at 8:51 am

    You are amazing! Your posting today made me realize that I don’t even ask Gary to pray for me. I always just take my prayers straight to God! Wow, what a blessing I am missing out on by not going to my husband to ask Him to pray for me!!! I know I should take my prayers to God too, but wow…the blessing of having my husband pray for me, too!!!! I have been way too independent!

    Reply
    • 4. Christi Wilson: Founder, Girlfriends Coffee Hour  |  July 12, 2012 at 8:52 am

      And another hug from Wisconsin!!!! 🙂

      Reply
    • 5. megansmidt  |  July 12, 2012 at 8:55 am

      When Craig prays for me it’s all over….. I bawl like a baby! It’s the ultimate submission and it hits me so hard because I know he “understands” since he is able to bring it to the Lord ❤ ……. Feeling the love from WI over here 🙂

      Reply
  • 6. Cynda  |  July 12, 2012 at 9:14 am

    My heart aches for you sadness but I love your honesty Megan! I too have felt like no one would fill the gap if I didn’t. Thank you for reminding that is God’s job not mine & when I step in, my actions & attitude say I don’t trust God to get it right. What a humbling thought – that I should attempt to do a better job than God.

    Hugs
    Cynda

    Reply
    • 7. megansmidt  |  July 12, 2012 at 11:00 am

      I am so happy this encouraged you, my sister! Let it fill your heart and should today to know that God wants you to give it all to Him!! ❤

      Reply
  • 8. coleen  |  July 12, 2012 at 6:06 pm

    megan, you wrote “…all the reasons why I HAD to step up and lead when it was not my role to do so…” SUCH the lie from the father of lies i am so thankful for you that you recognized how deceptive those thoughts are. i have allowed so much unnecessary suffering to come into my life for the very same reasons; thoughts such as, ‘if i don’t ____________ (you fill in the blank) then it is just NOT gonna get done!’ actually here is what the holy spirit has brought me to: whenever i have that kind of thought, i am SURE it is NOT the truth! sorry for all the capitalization and exclamation points. this is SUCH the big deal to me. here comes a big hug from ny; we’ve got you from both sides! ❤

    Reply
    • 9. megansmidt  |  July 12, 2012 at 11:15 pm

      Coleen, thank you for this…… And the hug 🙂

      Reply
      • 10. coleen  |  July 12, 2012 at 11:24 pm

        anytime, miss megan. God bless you ❤

    • 11. Cynda  |  July 13, 2012 at 7:25 am

      Coleen,

      As I read through this chapter I thought the same thing. So many problems & so much suffering in my life because I thought I HAD to step up. I am now going to use your phrase ” I ‘m sure it is not the truth!” & stay in my role in God’s established order.

      Reply
      • 12. coleen  |  July 13, 2012 at 10:58 pm

        cynda, let’s purposefully pray for each other that God will help us. by His grace, and our efforts, soon each of our hearts will be changed and we no longer will have to resort to this phrase! praying for you. ❤

      • 13. megansmidt  |  July 14, 2012 at 7:52 am

        amen!!!! I am standing with you in prayer, Coleen!

      • 14. Cynda  |  July 14, 2012 at 8:59 am

        Wonderful idea Coleen! Praying for you too.

        Hugs
        Cynda

      • 15. coleen  |  July 14, 2012 at 8:49 pm

        thanks, ladies… ❤

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


More Glory to Glory Resources

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Intentional Living

July 2012
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031